Parkin retain singles title

30/05 Updated: 30/05 16:45

PHIL PARKIN provided one of the highlights of the Leamington and District Snooker and Billiards Association finals week by winning the EJ Riley singles title for the fourth successive year.

Parkin had to come from behind to beat Nelson team-mate Adam Ashley 4-2 in an intriguing final.

Ashley took the opening two frames but then made mistakes and Parkin took full advantage to level matters at the interval.

Following the 15 minute break, Parkin stepped up through the gears and a brilliant break of 70 saw him take the lead for the first time and he went on to lift the trophy.

Ian Carter (Warwick Cons) claimed his first individual title since 1989 by overcoming Richard Moore (Harbury) 115-26 in the Fred Cowell Cup final.

Kelvin Handley (Nelson) won the Eric Briggs Under 35 Cup by beating Matt Bradley (Warwick University) 3-1 in the final, while Tony Baylis clinched the Pete Hiley Over 50 Cup by defeating Nelson team-mateTed Mullis 2-0 and Windsor duo Billy Morton and Pash Jugpal lifted the Pairs Cup after beating Home Guard rivals Gavin Burt and Martin Cooper.

Frames won the Courier Cup final for the second time in three years after edging a 4-3 verdict over Lillington in a thrilling final.

Myles Matthews, Surinder Kandola, Alexsey Osokin and Suk Saikhon triumphed for Frames with Craig McCamley, Simon Wade and Dave Nash responding.

Frames wins from Vic Makh, Dean White, Pash Jugpal and Billy Morton helped Windsor complete the double by beating Warwick Cons 4-2 in the Stan Ward Handicap Cup final. Ian Carter and Andy Gardner had won the opening two frames for the Cons.

Nelson A clinched the Three Man Challenge Cup for the third successive year by beating Warwick Cons 4-1 in the final, while Neal Stribling lifted the Cliff Webb Memorial Trophy after beating Terry Robinson 5-3.

Meanwhile, Nigel Croft (Nelson) retained the Kenilworth Billiards Trophy for the third year in a row by defeating Chris Hudson (Lillington Bowls) who has now lost in four of the last five finals.

Geoff Barrett (Lillington Bowls) kept his grip on the Birmingham Mail Cup by overcoming Richie Evans (Nelson) to lift the troiphy for the seventh time in nine years.

John Grubb (Leamington Liberals) clinched the Camkin Cup at the expense of Martin Hunt (Lillington Bowls).

Fred Cowel Cup winner Ian Carter and runner-up Richard Moore. (s)

A Division champions Priors - Mark Smith, Paul Hopkins, Daz McMillan, Mick Twomey, Simon O’Reilly and Stef Devis. (s)

Popular Stories »

More sport »

European silver for Folkard

LEAMINGTON archer Naomi Folkard warmed up for the

Brakes boss boosts squad

LEAMINGTON manager Paul Holleran has strengthened his squad

Dyer runs riot

STEVE DYER hit a sparkling century which helped

Bell relishes return visit

A MAGNIFICENT century from Keith Bell set Kenilworth

Regional sport »

Stratford Observer
Athletes recall Worcester runs

SEVERAL Stratford Athletic Club members were in action at the ...

Rugby Observer
Coventry Bees boss upbeat despite Poole defeat

GARY Havelock believes that two controversial refereeing decisions cost his ...

Coventry Observer
Coventry Bees taste first defeat of the season

BEES suffered their first defeat of the season as Elite ...

Redditch Standard
Bears stars back Studley juniors

STUDLEY Cricket Club’s junior coaching launch evening was a big ...

Business Directory »

See your advert here »