Christopher Tucker wins Don Boam Cup on countback - The Leamington Observer

Christopher Tucker wins Don Boam Cup on countback

Leamington Editorial 31st May, 2016 Updated: 28th Oct, 2016   0

COUNTBACK was required to determine the winner of the Don Boam Cup at Kenilworth Golf Club on Sunday.

Christopher Tucker lifted the trophy by virtue of a better back nine than Denis Blasdale after the pair both carded 79, nett 67, while two-handicapper Daniel Lane posted the best gross score of 77.

The ladies competition was won by Brenda Sparrow 88, nett 67, from Jane Adams 94, nett 74, with Emma Saywell taking the best gross prize with 87.

Twenty-fours earlier David Sercombe 78, nett 67, came out on top in the De Montfort Qualifier at Crewe Lane from Mark Hollingsworth 81, nett 68.

The Division Two winner was Lee Young 88, nett 69, from Jon Gregory 85, nett 70, with Tom Higgitt carding the best gross score of 76.

The May Extra medal was a closely contested affair with Ray Bevan taking the honours due to a better back nine than William Slater after they both amassed 40 points. Division B saw success for John Dixon with 41 points from Mark Bolshaw 40.

Meanwhile, John Close and Emma Saywell won the Yorke Trophy with 45 points, just edging out runners-up Nick Coleman and Michelle Morrison by one point. Jim and Lynda McCarthy finished third on 43 points but did have the satisfaction of winning the Garner Salver for the best scoring married couple.

Previously, a blistering round of 75, nett 65, enabled Nick Wright to comfortably win the Garrard Cup Qualifier from Andy Northwood 79, nett 68. The Division Two winner was Stephen Linford 91, nett 71, from Lee Turner 89, nett 71.

Completing a busy period, Kenilworth Ladies Spring Open took place in glorious sunshine and there was a full field of 44 teams which included 99 visitors to the club.

The winners were Vicky Barber (Stratford on Avon), Glenda Loram (Maxstoke) and Carol Blackburn (Shirley) with a score of 72.

Beaten into second place were Lynda McCarthy and her guests Shelia Morrow (Wenvoe GC) and Pam Williams (Royal Porthcawl), while Walmley GC trio Mave Mendus, Mary Ranndon and Sue Hart finished third.

A raffle raised £400 for captain Lesley Cheslin’s chaity which is the NSPCC.

Public Notices

View and download all of the public notices in the Leamington Observer.


Weddings, Birthdays, Bereavements, Thank you notices, Marriages and more.

Online Editions

Catch up on your local news by reading our e-editions on the Leamington Observer.


Receive a weekly update to your inbox by signing up to our weekly newsletter.