Warwickshire’s Greatest – All Winners - The Leamington Observer

Warwickshire’s Greatest – All Winners

Leamington Editorial 30th Jul, 2020 Updated: 30th Jul, 2020   0

The Greatest Ever roll of honour is now complete after a series of online polls in which Warwickshire supporters have voted in their thousands.

It’s the series that has had Bears fans and former players talking across the world this year.

Lockdown may have kept cricket on ice but there was no holding back on the debates about who was the Greatest Ever in the 17 categories.

After being voted Greatest Ever Overseas Bear, Allan Donald said: “I am very humbled and honoured. Just to be on the short-list was amazing, I would have been happy with just that, but to be voted Greatest Overseas Bears makes me very, very proud.”

“I’ve followed the Greatest Bear series closely, it’s been great, and it means so much to me, just like it did to A.D when he was voted Greatest Overseas Bear. Warwickshire is tattooed on all our hearts.” Andy Moles

Andy Moles, who was voted Greatest Ever Bear Never To Play Test Cricket, said: “It is very humbling. I was so lucky to play for a great club like Warwickshire and play with, and be coached by, such brilliant people. To be voted on to the Greatest Ever list is just the cherry on the top. Thank you to everyone who voted for me.

Based upon all the votes cast, the Greatest Ever Bears team is:

1. Jameson

2. Amiss

3. Moles

4. Lara

5. Penney

6. Reeve

7. Cartwright

8. Piper

9. Small

10. Donald

11. Hollies

All the winners:

Overseas: Allan Donald

Captain: Dermot Reeve

Spinner and Individual Bowling Performance: Eric Hollies

All-rounder: Tom Cartwright

Batsman: Dennis Amiss

Seamer: Allan Donald

Fielder: Trevor Penney

Wicketkeeper: Keith Piper

Opening pair (batting): Dennis Amiss and John Jameson

Opening pair (bowling): Allan Donald and Gladstone Small

Individual Batting Performance: Brian Lara

Player Never Capped by England: Andy Moles

Championship Match: v Surrey (The Oval) 2002

Lord’s final: 1993 NatWest Trophy v Sussex

T20 match: 2017 Quarter-Final v Surrey at The Oval

T20 player: Jeetan Patel

T20 innings: Brendon McCullum


Brian Halford Club Journalist

Reader Travel

Check out all of the latest reader travel offers to get your hands on some free gifts.


Weddings, Birthdays, Bereavements, Thank you notices, Marriages and more.

Public Notices

View and download all of the public notices in the Leamington Observer.


We can provide all of your printing needs at competitive rates.